Student Caucus

The Student Caucus is the student voice in decision-making at Thompson Rivers University.

We are the team of student representatives on all university committees, participating in decisions that shape our education!

The Student Caucus provides leadership on campus. We get students involved in key issues and lobby decision-makers for real changes that improve our campus. We organize the annual Student Budget Consultation to have student priorities reflected in university plans and budgets.

You can join the Student Caucus to serve on one of over fifty student positions on committees across the university. As a student representative, you will participate in TRU decisions, work for campus improvements, serve as a leader for your classmates, build your skills, get recognition, network with university leaders, and more.

Join the team. Speak for students Be a representative!

Apply to Join the Student Caucus
Attend Student Caucus Events
Get the latest Student Caucus news
Ask a question about the Student Caucus

The Student Caucus Team

The Student Caucus includes student representatives on all university decision-making bodies. This includes:

Board of Governors

Responsible for financial, legal, capital, and external relations decisions.

The Community Trust

Responsible for managing private real estate development on campus that incorporates housing and amenities

Administrative Advisory Committees

Responsible for operational decisions and overseeing major projects

The Senate and Senate Committees

Responsible for university-wide academic decisions

The Planning Council for Open Learning

Responsible for directing the affairs of the Open Learning Division of the university

Faculty Councils

Responsible for faculty-based academic decisions

Below are descriptions of each of the decision-making bodies where students are represented, along with the name, contact, and term of the students currently representing you.

Board of Governors

The TRU Board of Governors has a legislated set of responsibilities for directing the affairs of the institution and setting policies in accordance with the Thompson Rivers University Act. In summary, the Board is responsible for the management, administration and control of the property, revenue, business, and affairs of the University.

Note that student representatives on the Board are elected through a TRU process and not selected through the Student Caucus.

Chandan Sehgal    
Robert Barnes
Sep 2017 – Aug 2018
Dana Prymak
Sep 2017 – Aug 2018

Community Trust

The TRU Community Trust (TRUCT) is a corporate trust wholly owned by TRU and created as a separate legal entity to manage the development of TRU’s real estate. The TRUCT is responsible for developing a “university village” that incorporates features on campus such as market-based residential housing, student residences, retail shops, restaurants, professional offices, and student assembly space.

Note that the student representative on the Community Trust are elected through a TRU process and not selected through the Student Caucus

Chandan Sehgal      
Robert Barnes
Sep 2017 – Aug 2018

Administrative Advisory Committees

Administrative advisory committees are representative bodies that serve not to make decisions, but to advise administration on operational issues that do not fall under the governance mandates of the Board of Governors, Senate, or Planning Council for Open Learning. While there are countless formal and informal advisory bodies and activities at the university at any given time, the Student Caucus supports representatives only on formal advisory committees reporting to the President, Vice Presidents, Associate Vice Presidents, or Directors.

President's Council
Academic Computing Technology Advisory Committee
Accreditation Steering Committee
Capital Projects Planning Advisory Group
Convocation Advisory Committee
Degree Works Steering Committee
Landscape Advisory Committee
Marketing, Communications, and Institutional Relations Committee
Parking Appeals and Advisory Committee
Space Management Committee
Sustainability Grant Fund Committee


The Senate is the senior academic decision-making body of the university. The purposes of the Senate are defined by the Thompson Rivers University Act. These include setting: criteria for awarding credentials, curriculum content, admissions standards, examinations and student evaluation policies, student withdrawal policies, criteria for academic standing and standards, the grading system, criteria for academic excellence awards, and student academic appeals policies and procedures. The Senate is further required by the Act to advise the Board of Governors on matters including: the mission statement, goals, objectives, strategies, and priorities of the university; the establishment, revision, or discontinuance of courses, programs, or faculties; the priorities for new programs and courses; the evaluation of programs and educational services; the library and resource centres; the setting of the academic schedule; the qualifications of faculty members; the adjudication procedures for appealable matters of student discipline; the terms of affiliation with other post-secondary bodies; and the consultation with community and program advisory groups concerning the university’s educational programs. Note that student representatives on the Senate are elected through a TRU process and not selected through the Student Caucus.

Chandan Sehgal Chandan Sehgal Chandan Sehgal
John Faul
Sep 2017 – Aug 2018
Arjun Gill
Sep 2017 – Aug 2018
Muhammad Daniyal
Sep 2017 – Aug 2018
Sep 2017 – Aug 2018

Senate Committees

Academic Integrity Committee
Academic Planning and Priorities Committee
Awards and Honours Committee
Budget Committee of Senate
Educational Programs Committee
Environmental Sustainability Advisory Committee
Graduate Studies Committee
Indigenous Affairs Committee
International Affairs Committee
Research Committee
Steering Committee
Teaching and Learning Committee

Planning Council for Open Learning

The Planning Council for Open Learning is responsible for directing the affairs of the Open Learning Division of the university.

It has the power to set admission requirements and residency requirements for awarding credentials offered through the Open Learning Division. It may further advise or make recommendations to the Board of Governors on the following: the educational mandate of the Open Learning Division; the establishment, revision or discontinuance of courses and programs in the Open Learning Division; and the strategic direction for the Open Learning Division, including its role as a system partner in the ongoing development and expansion of distance and online learning in British Columbia.

Note that the student representative on the Planning Council for Open Learning are elected through a TRU process and not selected through the Student Caucus.

Chandan Sehgal      
Daryl Drozda
Sep 2017 – Aug 2018

Faculty Councils

Each Faculty and School of the university has a Council that serves as it senior academic governance body and the venue for collegial and consultative decision-making. The Council provides a forum for Faculty-wide dissemination of information, discussion, and academic decision-making related to the governance and management of the Faculty and its activities. While respecting the authority of more senior university governance bodies (Senate and Board of Governors) and administration, each Council is responsible at the Faculty level for the planning, priority-setting, development, management, and ongoing review of the teaching, research, and other related programs and services.

Adventure, Culinary Arts, and Tourism Faculty Council
Arts Faculty Council
Business and Economics Faculty Council
Education and Social Work Faculty Council
Law Faculty Council
Nursing Faculty Council
Sciences Faculty Council
Student Development Faculty Council
Trades and Technology Faculty Council